С

MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, WALLFIELDS, HERTFORD ON WEDNESDAY 29 JULY 2015, AT 7.00 PM

PRESENT:Councillor P Moore (Chairman).
Councillors D Abbott, A Alder, M Allen,
D Andrews, P Ballam, R Brunton, K Brush,
S Bull, J Cartwright, M Casey,
Mrs R Cheswright, S Cousins, K Crofton,
G Cutting, I Devonshire, H Drake,
M Freeman, J Goodeve, L Haysey,
R Henson, Mrs D Hollebon, A Jackson,
G Jones, J Jones, J Kaye, G McAndrew,
W Mortimer, D Oldridge, T Page, M Pope,
S Reed, P Ruffles, S Rutland-Barsby,
S Stainsby, R Standley, M Stevenson,
N Symonds, J Taylor, K Warnell,
G Williamson, C Woodward and J Wyllie.

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Simon Drinkwater	 Director of Neighbourhood Services
Jeff Hughes	 Head of Democratic and Legal Support Services
Martin Ibrahim	- Democratic Services Team Leader
Adele Taylor	 Director of Finance and Support Services

181 CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman welcomed the Honorary Aldermen, Keith

Barnes, Ralph Gilbert, Mione Goldspink, Bob Parker, John Reynolds and John Sartin and their guests to the meeting. She reminded everyone present that the meeting was being webcast.

182 HONORARY ALDERMEN

Councillor L Haysey moved and Councillor S Rutland-Barsby seconded a motion that, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former members of East Hertfordshire District Council:

- A Burlton
- M Carver
- J Ranger
- J Wing
- M Wood

After being put to the meeting, and a vote taken, the motion was CARRIED by the necessary two thirds majority.

Council also noted the long service of Mr J Ranger as an East Hertfordshire District Councillor for 43 years.

> <u>RESOLVED</u> - that, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former members of East Hertfordshire District Council:

- A Burlton
- M Carver
- J Ranger
- J Wing
- M Wood

After a few brief words by Councillor J Wyllie, Mr A Burlton received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor L Haysey, Mr M Carver received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor A Jackson, Mr J Ranger received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor P Ruffles, Mr J Wing received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor N Symonds, Mr M Wood received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor A Jackson, Mr J Ranger received a gold badge in recognition of his long service from the Chairman.

The meeting closed at 7.27 pm

С

Chairman	
Date	